On Getting Wisdom

I wrote this recently for someone’s graduation. Reading it over was a reminder that I still need wisdom, so I still need to seek it.

********************************************************************

I thought about who I was as a person around the time I graduated from high school, I remembered one thing that I thought I had, but really didn’t, and yet desperately needed. I needed wisdom. And if I were to do it over again, I would have sought for it more aggressively.

The book of Proverbs uses economic language for wisdom. It tells us to buy wisdom, to purchase wisdom. Wisdom will be your greatest investment for the future. To paraphrase proverbs, Better to be a wise person with nothing else than a fool who has everything. This is why: wisdom is not just accumulating information, but the ability to use the information for the glory of God. Wisdom involves a synthetic view of life that sees everything related to the glory of God. One person said, there is nothing in the universe about which God does not scream, “mine.” So also, there ought to be nothing in your life that you are not conscious is for God. So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all for the glory of God.

How does Proverbs tell us to get wisdom? The fear of God is the beginning of wisdom. It’s been said, “What a person things of God is the most important thing about him.” That’s because the way a person views God will determine, in part, whether or not that person are truly wise. Do you know something of the majesty, the supremeness, the glory of God? You need this in order to get wisdom.

Because wisdom comes from a high view of God and the understanding that all of life is connected to his glory, we have a problem when we live for our own glory. I’ll never forget the time I signed up for a Christian cycling team, in part, thinking that if God would be more my side and he would help me will races. I had domesticated God. I had sought to bring him under my control so he could serve my end, all in the name of evangelism.

One of the ways I realized I didn’t have wisdom was when had to memorize the book of James and came across the phrase, “But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere…And a harvest of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace” (James 3:13,18).

This verse woke me up because I was not pure, I was not open to reason, I was not full of mercy and good fruits. But there is one who is. There is one who is absolutely pure, always full of mercy and good fruits. He is Christ. He is the “Wisdom of God,” (1 Cor 1:24,30) in Christ resides all the treasure of wisdom and knowledge (Col 2:3). You need him to be wise.

It’s somewhat of a paradox. He paid the price, so you can buy wisdom. Wisdom in found in Christ, and we are in Christ. So we have God’s wisdom, but we still need to seek it. So, buy wisdom, acquire wisdom. If you don’t get anything else, get wisdom.

About mike

As a result of God's sovereign grace, Mike is--first and foremost--a Christian. He is the husband of a beautiful wife, father of five wonderful kids, and pastor of Greenbelt Baptist Church, in Maryland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

