The Bread of Life (Part II)

Most of us, from time to time, feel a sense of insecurity, don’t we? We ask the question, “Who am I?” “Will I ever truly belong anywhere?” “Will I belong to someone” “What if I give everything in me?” “Will it be enough?” “Am I wanted?” “Will I be left alone?”… (to listen to the rest of the sermon click here.)

Here are some of the quotes I used in in the message:

I am quite certain that, if God had not chosen me, I should never have chosen Him; and I am sure He chose me before I was born, or else He never would have chosen me afterwards; and He must have elected me for reasons unknown to me, for I never could find any reason in myself why He should have looked upon me with special love. – Charles Spurgeon

Christ was cast off that I might be brought in, trodden down as an enemy that I might be welcomed as a friend, stripped that I might be clothed, wounded that I might be healed, athirst that I might drink, tormented that I might be comforted, made a shame that I inherit glory, entered darkness that I might have eternal light. – From Valley of Vision

Whenever we look to something beyond [our belonging to God] for joy or consolation, the problem is not that we want too much, but too little. Our deepest feelings of despair and dissatisfaction do not ultimately spring from a lack of possessions or belongings but from a failure to recognize whose child we are. Comfort comes when we, like the prodigal son, come to our senses and realize for the first time that to belong to the Father is to experience far greater wealth than our own individual portion of inheritance could ever provide. – Kelly Kapic


 

About mike

As a result of God's sovereign grace, Mike is--first and foremost--a Christian. He is the husband of a beautiful wife, father of five wonderful kids, and pastor of Greenbelt Baptist Church, in Maryland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

