“‘Trying Really Hard can make you Holy’…And Other Misconceptions about the Christian Life”

I’ve heard a lot of positive things about the CCEF booklets out in the hall. I’m glad they are helping people. Two of the most popular booklets are “How can I stop losing it with my kids,” and “Help with sexual addiction.” Those problems are universal. Think about what was in the news this week.

Now I don’t think sex and anger are the only things people ever struggle with. We all struggle with lots of things. But those two areas are particularly entrapping.

Let’s start with anger.

Think about it. Most parents do just about everything they can do to give their kids the very best. They sacrifice greatly, to help their kids. They also would probably agree that “losing it” isn’t exactly an effective parenting strategy. It isn’t going to model good behavior. And yet, they still can’t seem to stop. All the good intentions in the world don’t seem to stop them from saying things to their kids they know they shouldn’t say and don’t even want to say.

Then there’s the enslavement of sex. For those it enslaves, it is, perhaps, even stronger…(To listen to the rest of the sermon go here.)

 

If you like this topic, you might want to check out Ed Welch’s article “What Christians Really Believe: ‘I must Try harder'”

About mike

As a result of God's sovereign grace, Mike is--first and foremost--a Christian. He is the husband of a beautiful wife, father of five wonderful kids, and pastor of Greenbelt Baptist Church, in Maryland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “‘Trying Really Hard can make you Holy’…And Other Misconceptions about the Christian Life”

  1. Jenni Sweet says:

    thank you for this sermon. Didn’t pay attention to when it was posted but I liked the title. It made me think of this book by Joyce Meyer that I purchased and haven’t read yet called, BAttlefield of the Mind. I think I’m going to read it now. I have not been to church there on Sundays because I work but I don’t really have much of an excuse for not being there on Wednesday except to say that I do struggle with some social anxiety and am having a hard time getting there. I would love to come this Wednesday. I hope to see you all there. I am a member of the church but strayed away from God and am now on my way back thanks to the Lord working in my heart. I have quite a background that I am not proud of but God has changed me. If He can do what He’s done in my life already then surely He can help me get to Church. Please pray for me. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

