Crying out to God: Resting in His Love

Listen to some troubling quotes. Some of us, I’m sure, can relate first hand. But, all of us probably know someone who would articulate something like this.

  • “I feel like I was walking through a field of dead flowers and found one beautiful rose, but when I bent down to smell it, I fell into an invisible hole.”
  • “I can’t go on,” said a twelve year old girl.
  • I could weep by the hour like a child, and yet I knew not what I wept for,” said the great preacher Charles Spurgeon
  • Abraham Lincoln described his pain thusly: “I am now the most miserable man living. If what I feel were equally distributed to the whole human family, there would not be one cheerful face on the earth. Whether I shall ever be better, I cannot tell; I awfully forbode I shall not.
  • “I do not care if I lived or died. Each morning I wished I would not have woken up.”

 

To listen to the rest of the message, click here.

About mike

As a result of God's sovereign grace, Mike is--first and foremost--a Christian. He is the husband of a beautiful wife, father of five wonderful kids, and pastor of Greenbelt Baptist Church, in Maryland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

