What is Salvation, Really?

This past Sunday we looked, once again, at the book of Micah. The main idea was that our salvation in Christ comes about by Christ’s rule and reign over his people and the whole world. I tried to show three specific ways in which our salvation would be meaningless if it were not for Christ’s rule and reign. To listen to the sermon click here.

There was one little anecdote that I intended to say, but, for the sake of time, I cut. I offer it to you below. I had thought of saying this in point about how God rules us to make us holy. One day God will get rid of all the idols in our heart. For a Christian that is a good day, a day we ought to look for. Here’s an example of someone who longs for that day. I pray you long for it too.

Some of you have heard of Jonny Erickson Tada is. She grew up in Maryland. One day, as a Teenager, she was diving into the Chesapeake Bay, where the water was too shallow and became paralyzed. She is a Christian, and long after the accident she said the following: “People say, ‘You must be looking forward to Heaven,’ thinking I am looking forward to getting my new body. And after more than twenty-five years in a wheelchair, it’s true that I am. But more than that I am looking forward to my new body [she said with her voice choking with emotion] I am looking forward to a heart without sin.”

For next week, read chapters 6 and 7. Micah saves the best for last. This is an awesome passage about how God shows his people mercy and grace even when they do not deserve it.

About mike

As a result of God's sovereign grace, Mike is--first and foremost--a Christian. He is the husband of a beautiful wife, father of five wonderful kids, and pastor of Greenbelt Baptist Church, in Maryland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

